Amrita Shergil’s Lahore

Khalid Hasan writing for the Friday Times:

“Amrita Sher-Gil is one with the earth of Lahore. Is there no one in this city that she chose as home to build a memorial to her, or at least put a plaque at 23 Sir Ganga Ram Mansion in remembrance of a painter who has left her mark on the world in which she was not destined to live very long?”

Read the full article here that discusses her life and times in Lahore and also the little known relationship with Nehru.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://razarumi.wordpress.com/2007/05/20/amrita-shergils-lahore/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Read more at Raza Rumi […]

  2. I have read with great interest the story and history on Amitra Shergil. I have taken a look also at her great works of art and must confess that I knew nothing about this great talented young woman until today. I am ashamed, and proud at the same time, to say that my family lived at 23 Sir Ganga Ram Mansion from about 1948 to 1956. My Father worked for Burmah Shell. I have many fond memories of my childhood in Lahore and now I am thrilled at the prospect of having our residence in Lahore honoured in memory of Amitra SherGil

    Christopher Dias
    Oakville, Ontario
    Canada L6L 1C3

  3. I have read with great interest the story and history on Amitra Shergil. I have taken a look also at her great works of art and must confess that I knew nothing about this great talented young woman until today… I am ashamed,- and proud at the same time, to say that my family lived at 23 Sir Ganga Ram Mansion from about 1948 to 1956. My Father worked for Burmah Shell. I have many fond memories of my childhood in Lahore and now I am thrilled at the prospect of having our residence in Lahore honoured in memory of Amitra SherGil

    Christopher Dias
    Oakville, Ontario
    Canada L6L 1C3


Leave a Reply

