Whether asleep or awake, I am thirsty for that Friend…

If you are not going to bed, then sit, I am going.
Tell your tale, I have told mine.
I have had enough of tales and am like a drunkard –
slumber is making me lurch and fall in every direction.
Whether asleep or awake, I am thirsty for that Friend,
the companion and mate of His Image’s form.
Like the form in a mirror I follow that Face, displaying
and concealing His Attributes.
When He laughs, I laugh, and when He becomes agitated,
so do I.

Say the rest Thyself – for the pearls of meaning I have
strung on speech’s necklace derive from Thy Ocean.

         – Rumi
             Translation by William C. Chittick

Published in: on October 18, 2006 at 2:56 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://razarumi.wordpress.com/2006/10/18/whether-asleep-or-awake-i-am-thirsty-for-that-friend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Alhamdulillah, how beautiful🙂 Thank you for posting it. May we all become such pearls on His necklace.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. […] Say the rest Thyself – for the pearls of meaning I have strung on speech’s necklace de … Posted by razarumiI think it’s good article.Link to original article […]

  3. […] Say the rest Thyself – for the pearls of meaning I have strung on speech’s necklace de … Thanks for interesting article.Link to original article […]

  4. […] Say the rest Thyself – for the pearls of meaning I have strung on speech’s necklace de … Thanks alot.Link to original article […]


Leave a Reply

