He set the world aflame – Rumi

He set the world aflame,
And laid me on the same;
A hundred tongues of fire
Lapped round my pyre.

And when the blazing tide
Engulfed me, and I sighed,
Upon my mouth in haste
His hand He placed.

(translation by A.J. Arberry)

II

MAULANA’S LAST LETTER TO SHAMS

Sometimes I wonder, sweetest love, if you
Were a mere dream in along winter night,
A dream of spring-days, and of golden light
Which sheds its rays upon a frozen heart;
A dream of wine that fills the drunken eye.

And so I wonder, sweetest love, if I
Should drink this ruby wine, or rather weep;
Each tear a bezel with your face engraved,
A rosary to memorize your name…

There are so many ways to call you back-
Yes, even if you only were a dream.

(translation by Annemarie Schimmel)

Image credit here

Published in: on October 1, 2006 at 3:54 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://razarumi.wordpress.com/2006/10/01/he-set-the-world-aflame-rumi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Salaam Alaikum:
    As I am sure you know, yeserday, Sept. 30th, was Rumi’s birthday. May Allah bless him and guide his secret.

    Happy Birthday Dear Soul, Poet, Lover.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. toodles

  3. Although it still lacks personal touch, but kudos!

  4. Beautiful verses. thanks for posting.

  5. Beautiful verses. I like it.😀

  6. Where was I when Rumi’s lover was writing this blog. Great resource.

  7. Great post – I love those last two verses… Schimmel’s translation is accessible and really lovely.

  8. Archana, thanks for liking the post. Schimmel has done a fabulous job.

  9. |Molvi hargiz na shud Moaula-e-rome
    gar ghulami Shams Tabrezi na shud


Leave a Reply

